Vegan Mama in the Kitchen: Mock Tuna Salad (w/chickpeas)

125x125VeganMamainKitchen

Before I was vegan I LOVED tuna, especially tuna melts (cheese makes the world go ’round for those who aren’t vegan- which is why I gave it up). I immediately went searching for a “tuna” recipe, tried a few things and finally landed on this.

Ingredients: Chickpeas (one can or 12-15oz), Vegan Mayo (I prefer Earth Balance), Nutritional Yeast, Celery 2-6 stalks chopped (depending on how crunchy you want it).

If you are using chickpeas from a can drain them and then rinse with water to get rid of the extra sodium. I try to make chickpeas rather than buy them in a can- it is cheaper and healthier- but I don’t always have the time.  

making mock tuna marked

 

1. MASH the chickpeas. You can do this with a fork and/or a potato masher. I am inevitably left with some half chickpeas that don’t get mashed all of the way – it doesn’t bother me.

2. Add 1-3 tablespoons of mayo. This always depends on my mood. If I am trying to eat healthier/cleaner I use less. But if I am being indulgent (as I was when I made this batch) I add a lot. Yummmmm…

3. Add Nutritional yeast. This gives it a flavor similar to tuna and also adds vitamin B-12 (the only vitamin that non-meat eaters can’t get from grains/veggies). I use what is probably the equivalent of a tablespoon.

4. Add the celery. The more you use, the crunchier it will be.

A lot of recipes call for Kelp Flakes. This gives it a sea/fishy flavor. The first time I tried to make it I couldn’t find them at the store. The second time, I found them and couldn’t bring myself to spend the money. It is delicious without them and tastes enough like tuna for me. I had a friend try it and tell me she couldn’t believe how much it tasted like tuna. But if this doesn’t quite have the flavor you are searching for you might want to try adding kelp flakes. Occasionally I add onion powder. I would add real onions but they are always rough on my stomach.

I add this “Tuna” to salads and I make wraps with lettuce, cucumber and carrot shavings (and avocado if I have). Or  I just eat it with baby carrots, celery or crackers. It is all delicious!

mock tuna salad

 

Thanks for stopping by my low key vegan kitchen!

Do you have a different recipe for vegan tuna salad?

4 thoughts on “Vegan Mama in the Kitchen: Mock Tuna Salad (w/chickpeas)

  1. I’ve got to be honest with you here – if I tried to make this for my family, my husband would give me the “have you lost your mind?” look, and my kids would each sniff it, take a bite and shake their heads vigorously. So what I’m saying is, we are the unhealthiest people you know.

  2. Hi Kelly! Just hopped over from Wiffesionals! I was the guest poster last week on co-sleeping and see that you cloth diaper! We are a fuzzi bunz family and have been for over 2 years now. I’ve converted so many of my friends and hope to keep doing so. Great post and love your blog!

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

