Vegan Mama in the Kitchen: Raisin & Cinnamon Mochi Waffles

As promised I will be posting vegan recipes this week. I am a lazy cook with an almost non-existent kitchen (it is really small and originally had NO counter space) and little to no time. This means that my “recipes” are going to be very basic (but hopefully yummy). Some of you will like this, others will just think I am a disgrace to the kitchen. That is all.

125x125VeganMamainKitchen

Mochi 

What is Mochi?

Mochi is just whole grain brown rice that puffs up into delicious gooey goodness. It is also super easy to use. The most difficult part is cutting it but once you get past that it is a breeze! I buy it at Whole Foods.

I decided to try out Raisin & Cinnamon Mochi and my first experiment was to use it to make waffles. It is not overpowering like cinnamon raisin bread, it has just a hint of the cinnamon raisin taste.

cinn raisin mochi

Mochi Waffles

Equipment: Waffle iron

mochi waffle cut pics wtermarked

 

Ingredients: Mochi, Earth Balance Butter (optional), Maple Syrup (optional – but not really).

Total Time: 10-12 Minutes

  1. Pre-Heat the waffle iron to a mid-high setting. You don’t want to burn the Mochi.
  2. Cut the Mochi into 1.5-2 inch squares. It has to be cut like this in order to cook properly. Mochi is really, really, hard before you cook it. You will need a good knife and some elbow grease for this part.
  3. Butter the waffle iron. This just made the waffles that much better. But you don’t have to do this. You can also use a spray. But I was feeling gluttonous at the time.

    waffle iron

  4. Mochi spreads out nicely but in order to get a full waffle I would say 6-8 pieces of Mochi is necessary. I used a small waffle iron; I first tried it with 5 pieces and it didn’t cover the entire surface area (see the first picture below).   mochi waffle cooking
  5. Close the waffle iron. And let cook for about 4-8 minutes depending on the setting. My waffle iron is old and not so great so it took a little longer.

Ta-Da!

mochi waffle

The center of Mochi is always gooey and sticks to your teeth. That is what makes it super delicious. The outside was a little crunchy just like a good waffle should be. I added some maple syrup but brown rice syrup would have worked well also.

And there you have it, recipe number one for Vegan Mama in the Kitchen week. Warning: I have at least 1 if not 2 more Mochi recipes for you.

Tomorrow is the last day for the Big May Giveaway. Enter now to win free ad space on 3 different blogs and a Whole Foods Gift Card!

Did you like this recipe? Click below to vote for me!

top mommy 150

6 thoughts on “Vegan Mama in the Kitchen: Raisin & Cinnamon Mochi Waffles

  1. I am SO happy that I’ve come across your blog! I’m a vegan, and it is so hard to find simple, vegan recipes. I found you through the “grab a friend” bloghop, and I’m going to go and follow you on BlogLovin’. I just posted a simple vegan cookie recipe too ^_^

  2. Pingback: Vegan Mama in the Kitchen: Mochi Pizza Bites | Hoppy Bottoms

  3. Pingback: May Round Up & June Goals- I Heart Goal Setting! | Hoppy Bottoms

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

