Party Planning and DIY Projects: A 70th Birthday Brunch for Grandma

On April 28 my Grandma turned 70! You would never think she was a day over 55 and people assume she is my mother all of the time.

This is the birthday girl and her great-granddaughter

Grandma and Lily

She threw herself a little brunch shindig at a local restaurant/catering hall on the water. I surprised her with some centerpieces, favors and a sign-in book. My favorite kind of small, personalized details.

Centerpieces

The party was at restaurant on the water and was boat/sea themed. It was also a brunch so I wanted to make something not to big or showy. Keep in mind that I designed/created these without ever having been to this actual location. I just looked at a few pictures online.

The first step was making some bling for inside the centerpiece.

PIN THIS!

The Centerpieces were glass fish bowls with a layer of sand and sea shells on the bottom. I glued teal ribbon around the edge of each small fishbowl and put the sand and shells inside along with the glittery Js (My Grandma’s name is Judy). They also look a little like anchors, so it all really came together!

Favors

Favors can sometimes be wasteful. Actually, they are frequently wasteful. And I hate waste. I also didn’t want to spend a lot of money and I didn’t have a ton of time. But, who doesn’t like chocolate? I bought one really inexpensive chocolate “thank you” mold and some chocolate to make some homemade favors. Buying one mold saved money but it also took more time. Sorry, I don’t actually have a pictorial for making the chocolate.

  1. Melt chocolate.
  2. Pour into molds.
  3. Gently shake or bang on hard surface to even out and minimize air bubbles.
  4. Place in refrigerator for at least 15-20 minutes.
  5. When they are sturdy/hard pop from mold and store.

The hardened chocolate melts very quickly. I took a finished one out to look at it and before I had time to put it back in the fridge I had smudged the letters. Handle with care (and preferably with gloves!). We (my husband helped!) put them in candy bags with a few M&Ms. Not the most environmentally friendly way to go, unfortunately.

Here are the items in action! This includes a sign-in book that I made but did not photograph along the way.

Gift

As a gift the grandkids chipped in and got the birthday girl a picture quilt from MyAddibel Personalized Quilted Creations shop on Etsy. I ❤ Etsy and the quilt came out great. Check out the shop!

20130428_130601_resized

Isn’t party planning and accomplishing DIY projects fun?!

If you enjoyed my DIY ideas and party planning story please vote for me by clicking on the image below:

top mommy 150

3 thoughts on “Party Planning and DIY Projects: A 70th Birthday Brunch for Grandma

  1. That’s awesome that you put this all together and everything look great! I pinned your glittery letters pic.

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

