Our “Hoppy” Easter with #Vegan Cake and #Eco Eggs

Eco-Baby celebrated her first Easter in style with a pink and purple diaper cover (not pictured) and a bow that stayed in her hair (Finally!).

100_7691

I already posted about my preference of not coloring eggs and instead purchasing Eco Eggs. We were getting together with some children who I knew would be more appreciative of fun Easter gifts than the 4.5 month old Eco-Baby, so I stuffed and decorated some Eco Eggs for them. I used some old craft supplies that have been sitting in my closet. I don’t like to waste, so things tend to sit and take up space for a long time. I am always happy to get rid of them, especially to make more room for eco-friendly things or just to make more room in general. I did the below with some sticky foam pieces, marker, googly eyes, and puff balls.

100_7682

Inside of the Eco Eggs were 2 different vegan treats: Annie’s Fruit Snacks & Home free Gluten free Vegan Vanilla Cookies

Annie’s Vegan Fruit Snacks – Summer Strawberry

 

home free Gluten free Vegan Vanilla cookies

Baking is a favorite past-time of mine. In my next life, I hope to be one of those uber talented cake decorators. But for now, we will have to settle for my homely cakes made with heart. (If you are in NY/NJ and want a REAL cake my beautiful sister is super talented and can hook you up! See here) Although I have a shelf lined with Vegan cookbooks and dessert recipes I ended up googling some recipes to try out. The recipe that I like in my Skinny Bitch in the Kitch book required a blender and since Jessica Alba broke my blender, that wasn’t an option. Now, trying a new recipe Easter morning with only a few hours to bake, decorate and get the family ready and out the door was risky. What if the recipe was no good or I messed it up, or my bunny looked like a creepy old man with a bow-tie?! But I am brave and I went for it. I found a vegan vanilla cupcake recipe  (scroll to the bottom for the recipe); I made a small round cake and 12 cupcakes. It was very simple; and vegan recipes are not always simple. They came out nice and bouncy and not too dense, which can also be an issue with vegan baked goods.

Now, the real struggle and it always is,  was icing.  I hate spending the money on powdered sugar, which is in most recipes for icing. So I risked it and tried one that did not require powdered sugar. It can be found here, labeled as Vegan Boiled Frosting.

The frosting was pretty good. Had I not been pressed for time I might have mixed it a little more. It is times like these when I dream of having a KitchenAid Stand Mixer, even though it would not fit into my small apartment.

And here is my final result (no laughing!):

Vegan Bunny Cake

Vegan Bunny Cake

The nose is a home free vanilla cookie (see above).

The eyes are home free Gluten free Vegan Oatmeal cookies.

home free Gluten Free Vegan Oatmeal cookies

365 Vegan Chocolate Chips from Whole Foods. Picture from http://www.koshereye.com

The mouth is made with Whole Foods brand Vegan Chocolate Chips.

Given the amount of time I had, I am OK with the aesthetic result of the cake. It looks enough like a bunny (right?). It tasted OK, I have definitely had better. It wasn’t very sweet but it was good enough for me!

And that, was the Vegan Mama Eco- Baby Easter.

Oh! And a Happy Birthday to my other talented sister who turns 23 today! She makes really awesome personalized products like wooden names signs and coat racks for kids rooms.

How was your Easter? Share your Easter projects and treats with us below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Our “Hoppy” Easter with #Vegan Cake and #Eco Eggs

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

