When Something is Good, Share It: #Healing #DiaperRash Naturally

The goal of this blog is to get the word out about parenting and living as “naturally” as possible. Living Natural can mean different things to different people. For me, this means keeping as much toxic stuff away from my family as possible. I am slowly working on ridding my home of store bought, chemical laden products. Not just cleaning products but lotions, shampoos, and other products that are full of toxic junk. You probably won’t find me making my own lotion with natural ingredients in my apartment, but I will try to make as many homemade cleaning products as possible. When forced to make purchases (as I am not a professional chemist and certainly cannot make everything myself) I will try to buy personal care products that have all natural and as many organic ingredients as possible. Really all-natural, not just things labeled all natural. There is a difference. And you should all be aware of this difference. The key is to read (and compare) labels. You might find that things labeled “all-natural” have the same ingredients or almost the same ingredients as their regular counter parts.

Use this chart as helpful guide when reading labels:

Source: alphamom.com viaHoppy Bottoms on Pinterest

In reading Jessica Alba’s book, The Honest Life: Living Naturally and True to You, I came across some information about some popular baby products. According to the book, the famous “No More Tears” Shampoo, isn’t necessarily gentler on eyes, it just contains an agent the numbs the eyes to the irritants. Scary.

Also, if you compare some ingredients you will notice that a lot of products are very similar but yet labeled differently, so we purchase them separately.

Compare these for instance:

JOHNSON’S® HEAD-TO-TOE® Baby Wash

Ingredients

Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, PEG-150 Distearate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Polyquaternium-10, Fragrance, Quaternium-15, Citric Acid, Sodium Hydroxide.

JOHNSON’S® Baby Shampoo

Ingredients

Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, PEG-150 Distearate, Fragrance, Polyquaternium-10, Tetrasodium EDTA, Quaternium-15, Citric Acid, Yellow 10 and Orange 4. May also contain: Citric Acid, Sodium Hydroxide.

You will notice that with the exception of the dyes, which you should definitely stay away from, the chemical make-up is the same except for the sulfates (they have different names) but those are no-nos anyway.

Many of the most popular baby brands contain several of the ingredients on the list above. Sometimes, they have different names, but have the same or a very similar chemical make-up.

It is almost impossible to stay away from all of these ingredients/chemicals. But avoiding them as much as possible within reason is a good way to start.

If you ever want to find out more about chemicals/ingredients the Environmental Working Group can be a great resource. www.ewg.org

Now, getting to my rave review.

I know I have mentioned it a lot, but I am having a great experience with The Honest Co. products. I don’t sell them, I am not an affiliate, I am just finding them effective (and affordable).

We cloth diaper and have been very lucky to not have experienced a real diaper rash in eco-baby’s 4.5 months. Unfortunately, over the weekend eco-baby had RAGING diaper rash. We don’t know if it is because she started on oatmeal (we have since stopped) or because she is teething, or both or neither. Whatever caused it, it was painful to look at and when first discovered she actually cried a little (poor thing!) when we changed her diaper.

Enter, honest healing balm, from The Honest Co.  It says it can be used for diaper rash and minor cuts, scrapes and burns (rather than let’s say, Neosporin?). So, we took to it. We used it on a rash on her neck once (those cute little neck rolls that can get so dirty!) and it seemed to help but it was hard to tell.

I wish I could show you what the rash looked like just so you can see the difference, but that is inappropriate! So, just trust me when I say that it was red and raw. We put the healing balm on it (using a liner for the cloth diaper of course) and within the day you could see that it was getting better. It has been two days, and it has gone from her skin looking rough, patchy, dry and scabbing to being almost back to normal with a little redness.

 

Here are the ingredients in the healing balm:

INGREDIENTS:
RICINUS COMMUNIS (CASTOR) SEED OIL*, CERA ALBA (BEESWAX)*, HELIANTHUS ANNUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL*, OLEA EUROPAEA (OLIVE) FRUIT OIL*, COCOS NUCIFERA (COCONUT) OIL*, CALOPHYLLUM TACAMAHACA (TAMANU) OIL*, TOCOPHEROL (NON-GMO), CALENDULA OFFICINALIS FLOWER EXTRACT (CALENDULA)*, STELLARIA MEDIA (CHICKWEED) EXTRACT**CERTIFIED ORGANIC INGREDIENT

All natural, no forbidden ingredients and organic. It is $12.95 for a 3oz tube. But it is thick and it will go a long way.

Just as a comparison, the ingredients in A&D Diaper Rash Cream (according to drugstore.com):

Active Ingredients: Ointment contains:: Dimethicone (1%) (diaper rash cream), Zinc Oxide (10%) (diaper rash cream).

According to the Environmental Working Group Dimethicone, is classified as being toxic or harmful. In other words, I won’t be using A&D Diaper Rash ointment on eco-baby.

Now, I had a friend tell me she used A&D instead of Desitin cream because “It is just vitamins A & D and not whatever other crap is in Desitin.”

So let’s compare (pin this!):

Compare Diaper Creams

They are almost identical and the vitamins are not even in the main active ingredients. Now, I am not a chemist but I did some research and I will be staying away from these items. There are serious cases of infections and rash in which Zinc Oxide is prescribed by doctors but I will not be using it over the counter in either of these creams.
Try the honest healing balm it was worth the money. It is more expensive than the other creams, but it isn’t outrageously priced and for the peace of mind and the result totally worth the money!
3 thoughts on “When Something is Good, Share It: #Healing #DiaperRash Naturally

  1. Pingback: Kelly from Hoppy Bottoms { Guest Post} | Domestically Seasoned

  2. Pingback: Greening Our Children and other Successes at Hoppy Bottoms | Hoppy Bottoms

  3. Pingback: Greening Our Children Event Review & Meeting Jessica Alba | Hoppy Bottoms

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

