3 Must-Haves for the #ExpectantMom Hospital Stay

After spending 12 hours in labor and 3 days in the hospital, I recommend the following items for any expectant mama.

A Robe

You will be in the hospital for at least 2 days. The temperature in the hospital, well, it can fluctuate. A lot. Also, after you have spent hours…and hours, pushing a baby out you might be very warm. Then you might not have control of the temperature in the hospital room which can drop drastically overnight. Having a robe with you can be a life saver.

You are also going to have visitors and be getting up at all hours of the morning and night to feed the baby, go to the bathroom and get some food. It is easy to put on and easy to take off. If you want to wait to buy nursing tops, or you just don’t plan on buying any at all (although you probably should if you are going to nurse) then a robe is a fast easy way for nursing access or for a quick cover up of your postpartum body when visitors arrive.

And for those of you who are giving birth at home-The robe isn’t just for the hospital. When you are getting up every couple of hours with a newborn at home, you will be grateful to have a robe. Especially in the winter.

In my robe on the birthing ball

In my robe on the birthing ball

Resting with my new baby- in my robe- at the hospital

Resting with my new baby- in my robe- at the hospital

Slippers

You will be spending a lot of time walking around the hospital. Whether it is during your labor or during your recovery (or just for a late night/early morning snack). Good slippers are important. I opted for the ballet slipper type because they stay on your feet. But there is a lot of getting in and out of bed/taking on and off of slippers so you might prefer slip-ons.

A Snack

As my best friend said after she had her daughter, “I get why they call it labor now.” Enough said. If you follow a special diet make sure to bring something that meets your dietary needs. This Vegan Mama brought peanut butter and oatmeal. It hit the spot.

Source: dainty-chef.com viaHoppy Bottoms on Pinterest

Do you have other labor and delivery must-haves? Comment below, I would love to hear them!

Pin this image!…

3 hospital must haves

 

 

This post is part of the…

THE PINK MOMMA

4 thoughts on “3 Must-Haves for the #ExpectantMom Hospital Stay

  1. The first two must-haves I actually had. Thanks to my 2 day induction the snack was a no-go 😦 I would definitely add I-pod and chapstick/gloss. A must for me. Andrea @ be-quoted visiting from SITS.

  2. Socks! (often you get the chills I thought I wouldnt need socks like I was told but packed them anyways and I was so thankful)! Your new follower coming from the blog hop

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

