Being #Grateful for What We Have

It can be easy to forget about the good things in our lives. In other words, it is much easier to focus on the bad or unfortunate things, rather than remembering all of the wonderful things. The good most likely out number the bad but somehow the bad seem to get the most attention.

So today I wanted to do a simple list of all of the things I am: grateful for, lucky to have, and should try to focus on. Tangible or intangible. In no particular order (after the first 3).

1. I have a beautiful baby. She was born healthy and happy (once she got past that first bit of screaming!). Some people are not as lucky.

Beautifully Simple Designs Tutu

2. I am in a wonderful, happy relationship. So, he forgets to pick up his socks; it could probably be a lot worse.

 

 

3. I have a big, loving family. They drive me completely nuts and can sometimes be a little stress inducing but some people don’t have any family.

Family

 

 

 

 

More Family

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even more family…

 

 

 

and there is more, but this post has to end eventually.

 

 

 

4. I have my convictions. Someone told me this weekend that they respected my commitment to my convictions (we were discussing my vegan-ism and other beliefs). I never would have thought of this on my own but I stopped to think about it, and hey, I kind of rock. (::patting myself on the back::)

5. I have a place to live. OK, so this seems pretty basic but truth be told I complain about my small one bedroom apartment all of the time. And while I do want to move to a bigger space, very soon, I have to remind myself that I have a place that is my own (within my renters rights of course). I plan on blogging about how to live in a small space with a baby in the upcoming weeks. 

6. I have a job. While I do believe that it is OK to wish I had a new job (and boy do I!) there are many people who haven’t had a job for a long time. Even more lucky -I have a job that gave me paid maternity leave and at which I can use a pump in my own office so I can continue to breast-feed. I am lucky to have been consistently employed since I finished my degree. Bringing me to my next point…

7. I had the opportunity of being educated. I have a masters degree. Not everyone gets the chance to go to college. Not to say you need to go to college to be smart…because that sure is not true!

8. I can pay my bills. My husband and I frequently refer to ourselves as being “poor.” Obviously, after reading numbers #5, #6, and #7 you can assume that we aren’t exactly “poor.” Do I wish we had more money? Yes. But who doesn’t? I would like to be a little more comfortable in my living (not rich, just comfortable) but we are making due and sometimes a little struggle is good for the soul.

9. I am healthy. I have no major health issues and in this day and age, that is a truly lucky thing.

10. I have my friends. Many of whom have been around for most of my life. And most of whom (not all) have also had babies recently (we didn’t plan it it just kind of happened that way).

Bachelorette Party

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11. I have my blog. Where I can post things like this and no one can stop me!

We shouldn’t take for granted the things we have. Let us try and remember the things we have (that others might not) that make our lives wonderful!

What are you grateful for? Leave a comment below!

Have a great Tuesday.

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

