“Discovering” The Honest Co. Kits and Bundles

A couple of weeks ago I posted about The Honest Co. an eco-friendly company that makes biodegradable disposable diapers and products free of harsh chemicals.

They are a subscription delivery service that sends you customized “bundles” of diapers and wipes and/or chosen household “essentials.” In order to allow you to experience their products before committing they provide free (for the price of shipping, $5.95) Discovery Kits for each bundle.

I ordered because I really wanted to try out the products.

100_7482

The Diaper Discovery Kit came with 5 diapers and a small pack of travel wipes.

The diapers are absorbent, they did not irritate my daughter’s skin and they are cute! She has become quite the heavy wetter and they didn’t leak at all.  

The Honest Co Diaper Discovery Kit

The Honest Co Diaper Discovery Kit

The Family Essentials Discovery Kit had 5 travel sized items:  Healing Balm, Shampoo and Body Wash, Hand Soap, Face and Body Lotion, and Laundry Detergent. When you order a bundle subscription you can choose the items you want and you can change them every month. For the Discovery Kit, they choose for you.

Honest Healing Balm (Fragrance Free): The healing balm is very thick, it is a balm after all. The label says it can be used for parent and child and is safe for use as diaper rash cream. At first I didn’t care for it because of the thickness. But I used it for a few nights and I think it does the job. You just need to really rub it in, it stays on your hands for awhile before being fully absorbed.

Honest Shampoo and Body Wash: At first I was taken aback by a product that is labeled to wash your hair and body. Then I realized without “harsh chemicals” both products (shampoo and body wash) essentially do the same job. I did not use it on my hair but I did use it as a body wash. I really liked it and I have been searching for an affordable body wash that is cruelty free and earth friendly. It has a very light but pleasant scent, Sweet Orange Vanilla. It is also labeled as being safe for adult and baby use. It worked great when I used it to shave my legs!

Honest Hand Soap: I have plenty of hand soap at home but would LOVE to keep a soap around that isn’t harsh on skin; I have to wash my hands a lot when I am cleaning cloth diapers. When my current soap runs out, I will definitely purchase this soap.

Honest Face and Body Lotion (Fragrance Free): Having one lotion for face and body would be great. I hate that I buy 2 separate lotions but body lotions tend to be greasy on my face. I have sensitive skin so I have to be super careful about what I am putting on my fair skinned face. I used this lotion on my face and body and liked it. One day I used it on my hands and I felt like it didn’t do that job as well as I would have liked. But I’m not sure if I was just in a rush and didn’t use enough.

Honest Laundry Detergent: I have not yet used the Honest Laundry Detergent. My husband generally does the laundry (Awesome, right?) and we have 3 jugs of the detergent we normally use. It will make its way in the rotation eventually.

The Honest Co. Family Essentials Discovery Kit

The Honest Co. Family Essentials Discovery Kit

I am going to keep my subscription for the Family Essentials Bundle. I like the idea of:

  1. Minimizing the number of products in my house by using products that serve more than one purpose (i.e. Shampoo and Body Wash) and are safe for Mama and baby
  2. Using products that are Cruelty Free and Eco-Friendly (and not outrageously expensive)
  3. Having things delivered and have a controlled price ($35.95)
  4. Having everything come from one place and not having to shop around

As I go through my current household products I will replace them with products from this company. Every month you can change what comes in your bundle, otherwise I might not have kept it. You can also change the frequency of delivery (4 weeks, 6 weeks, 8 weeks) so if you know you won’t be needing things monthly you can customize things to meet your needs.

In my first bundle I ordered the Healing Balm, Shampoo and Body Wash, Conditioner (excited to try it out), Face and Body Lotion, and Organic Lip Balm Trio (REALLY excited about that!). I am most excited about the Lip Balm because it is difficult to find a cruelty-free organic lip balm that doesn’t cost $9 a tube. Hopefully, it is as good as the other products.

Some notes about the The Honest Co.:

  • They do not communicate via e-mail. They like to provide customer service via phone in order to serve you effectively. It is a nice (but a tiny bit inconvenient) touch.
  • If you order a Discovery Kit, you are automatically signed up to start receiving it monthly unless you call and cancel.
  • They are very polite and helpful on the phone. They are also good sales people.

When I called to cancel the Diaper Bundle, they asked if I had feedback. I explained that I was just interested in trying out biodegradable diapers but didn’t need the bundle because I was a cloth diapering parent. The VERY NICE woman explained that she works with a lot of cloth diapering moms who use these as a supplement. She then went on to say that she would be happy to arrange it so that they get delivered much less frequently. She would also work with me if I wanted a variety of sizes delivered so that they would last longer. I was sold. My Diaper Bundle won’t be delivered until the end of May at my request. They really do work with you… and man am I a sucker!

Have you tried any of these products? What did you think?

 

Stay tuned…tomorrow is WEDNESDAY WAHM GIVEAWAY DAY!

5 thoughts on ““Discovering” The Honest Co. Kits and Bundles

  1. Pingback: Jessica Alba Broke My Blender | Hoppy Bottoms

  2. Pingback: Some Things I Love: A Simple Sunday Post | Hoppy Bottoms

  3. Pingback: My Cara Box & the Winner of the Sibu Beauty Facial Cleanser | Hoppy Bottoms

  4. Pingback: Greening Our Children and other Successes at Hoppy Bottoms | Hoppy Bottoms

  5. Pingback: Greening Our Children Event Review & Meeting Jessica Alba | Hoppy Bottoms

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

