“Honest” Diapers?

My goal is to spread the word about parenting, specifically, parenting in an eco-friendly way. Cloth diapers, are well, they are just the cats pajamas in my book. The reason I started this blog was to promote them. However, I am aware the cloth diapering isn’t for everyone and as much as I would like to, I (and all those other pro-cloth diaper Mamas and Papas) are not going to convert the entire universe to be cloth diapering parents. So, here goes my post possibly promoting disposable diapers…

Every time I see the commercial for the Windows Phone with Jessica Alba, I notice The Honest Co. logo that they seem to make sure gets some airtime.  I always wondered if that was her company. It is her company and it actually seems pretty great.

The Honest Co. website explains that they are dedicated to making products that are sustainable and healthy for the earth and the entire family. Perusing through the website you will find three categories of products: Baby, Bath and Body, and Cleaning. All of the products list the ingredients and indicate that they are non-toxic. They are also labeled as cruelty free. And there is something called The Honestly Free Guarantee (from http://www.honest.com):

What is the HONESTLY FREE GUARANTEE?

Our HONESTLY FREE GUARANTEE means you won’t find the following list of toxic nasties in our products or packaging:

phthalates, sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates, PVC, parabens, benzene, chlorine, synthetic fragrances, triclosan, formaldehyde-based preserving agents, nanoparticles, TEA, MEA, phosphates, polyethylene glycol (PEG), quaternium 15, DMDM hydantoin, 1-4 dioxane, bisphenol-A (BPA), alkylphenol ethoxylates (APEs)/nonylphenol, BHA, benzalkonium chloride

(We hereby confirm this to the best of our knowledge based on information from our raw material suppliers & manufacturers.)

 

This all sounds good to me. The products do not seem ridiculously overpriced. Like for instance, $5.95 for a 16oz bottle of all-natural dish soap. The prices are similar to what you might consider a bargain at a place like Whole Foods. I think it is reasonable given the quality and type of the product they are selling. I haven’t tried anything myself but in general anything that is legitimately labeled “All-Natural”  or “cruelty-free” can be priced high enough to empty your bank account.

Now, the reason I really decided to post about The Honest Co. is their diapers. They sell disposable diapers…that are biodegradable.

They seem amazing. I am not going to stop cloth diapering but I do think this is a great option for those who don’t want to cloth diaper. Or for those, like myself, who keep a small stash of disposables in the house for emergencies and babysitters who don’t get how simple cloth diapers are to use. My original stash came from the diaper cakes at my baby shower. When those run out, these The Honest Co. diapers will be my diaper of choice.  Find out more about the diapers here

They also have 2 different subscription”Bundles” that customers can sign-up to receive. The Diapers Bundle has Honest Diapers and Wipes delivered to your door every month for $79.95. The number of diapers you are delivered is dependent upon your babies weight and if you need more they will send them. They also send 4 packages of 70 wipes. This appears to be a pretty good deal for disposable diaper and wipe users especially if you are trying to avoid products with harsh chemicals and you care about environmental impact. And you don’t have to leave the house!

The second bundle is the Family Essentials Bundle. From what I can tell you can choose any 5 products to be delivered to your door every month for $35.95. This includes dish soap, laundry detergent, sunscreen, shampoo and conditioner, etc. You can mix and match and change your products every month to meet your needs. I think this is also a SUPER deal.

Now, I haven’t tried any of these products yet BUT they have a really exciting offer; you can try each bundle free for the cost of shipping ($5.95). They are called Discovery Kits and ordering them automatically enrolls you in the Bundle subscription but you can cancel at anytime. The items in the Family Essentials bundle are pre-chosen for the Discovery Kit, but who cares?…it’s free! All you have to do is join the website. Here is how you can try Honest Diapers and other Honest products.

I am really excited to receive my 2 Discovery Kits. I will let you know what I think once I try using the diapers and the other products. For you disposable diaper users out there: Give it a shot. It can’t hurt and you will be exposing your babies bottom to less harmful chemicals and helping to reduce the amount of crap in (literally) landfills. (Or at least the amount of time the crap is in landfills.)

 

Hoppy Friday!

Let me know if you have ever used these products!

One thought on ““Honest” Diapers?

  1. Pingback: “Discovering” The Honest Co. Kits and Bundles | Hoppy Bottoms

I <3 Comments! Leave me a message and I will respond. Leave me a link to your blog/site and I will visit. I like to spread the love!

